Empathic Children

10857773_838011356284647_5430168838258132499_nAll too often we talk about our lives as empaths, but we tend to miss one very important aspect of it:  the empathic child.  Today I want to talk about that.  This particular subject is very near and dear to my heart as I have a child that is an empath.  As his mother, I have witnessed him going through every struggle with being an empath that I go through.  The difference is that I am an adult and I understand why I am going through the things that I am.  Children don’t often understand what it is or why it is happening to them.

My little boy is only 9 years old, and already has the understanding and vision of an adult.  I have watched him try to deal with being overwhelmed and struggle with feeling everybody’s pain and emotions.  He always has a way of knowing when somebody is sad or depressed.  When his brother and sister are fighting, he will cry out to them to stop because they are making his heart hurt.  He’s the sweetest little guy anybody ever met.

10923334_379465465568282_7921596457965524165_nNot all empathic children are lucky enough to be raised by an empath.  Think about how many children are empaths, and have no support in learning to deal with it.  Most of these children are told they are just too sensitive or over-emotional.  Their parents have no idea what is going on with them, so they seek out mental health assistance.  Now you have a bunch of empathic children who are being medicated simply because the world does not recognize or understand that empathic mind.  They feel that if they don’t understand it, it must be medicated.  I strongly disagree with this methodology.

15 - 1 (24)Being an empath, I have chosen to raise my son just a little different.  Last year he was getting bullied a lot, and he is not much of a fighter.  It got so bad that he was unable to complete any school work.  The classes are overcrowded, and he was constantly getting sick from too many people being around him.  His father and I decided to take him out of school.  He seems to be doing much better since then.

One of the most important aspects of having an empathic child, is teaching them how to deal with it.  I have already started teaching my son meditation and grounding techniques.  He already recognizes when he is overstimulated and needs to take a break.  I also walk him through a visualization that helps him to clear the excess energies that he has accumulated over the days.  I will not send him to the psychiatrist just because he feels too much.  It is my job as his parent to help him deal with the gifts that he was given.

If we educate and empower our gifted children, we will guarantee them success in using those gifts.  It is our responsibility and we must to what needs to be done.  We need to teach our children that an empath is not a weak, overly emotional person, but rather a person who possesses great and wonderful gifts that can and should be used for their own good.


8 thoughts on “Empathic Children

  1. I love this post! Your gentleness shines through.

    I think I’m the first person in my family to recognize empathy and begin figuring out how to live healthfully with it. It all started with my kids, watching them begin to struggle with the same sorts of experiences I’d had. I knew I had to get to the bottom of what made us “different” from other people–and what we could do to avoid the alcoholism, drama, etc. that previous generations used.

    Thank you for helping to keep this topic in the open. I think the world will be a better place when we all open up to empathic abilities rather than wall one another off. That work starts with ourselves and spreads through our kids.

    Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very interested in learning more about this as I believe my daughter to be an empath, but I have no where near enough understanding to help and support her. She’s only 6 and really struggles with feelings and being overwhelmed. I really really don’t want to take her to a doctor but it breaks my heart that she is so upset and I’m helpless. Please email me, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! My teenage daughter is an empathy (so am I, but I have learned to deal with it) and it frustrates her to no end, because she doesn’t understand why she is feels so much emotion. I have tried to teach her meditation, but she has trouble keeping her concentration. Any tips on how to help her clear her mind when everything just seems to come barging in?

    Like

    1. My 8 year old son is also an empath and I lead him through guided meditation and visualization techniques. I do the slow breathing and grounding with him also and so far it seems to work. I fear what he will be like when he is a teenager. So far he is extremely well adjusted to it, but the teenage years is where that might change. I’m getting such a response from this blog post that I think I will go into further detail about empathic children.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Children that are empths. Well I could not agree more regarding not taking him to see a doctor of any sort. I being an adult now obviously was an empth as a child. It was very hard soaking in everyone’s negatively but I knew at an early age I was different. I too knew how certain people and situations made me feel. I had friends but preferred my alone time. And still do. It is really beautiful to hear you are teaching him meditation and how to shut out people. He will grow up knowing energy, the universe and nature as his healing source. Your awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment