Emotional Overload

11540833_862720393764322_9128819923204735403_n

Today is one of those days where I feel the need to vent about the empathic turmoil that I have encountered and endured today.  To say the least, I feel like I’m losing control.

It seems to me that there are just certain days that I am bound to go through empathic struggles.  Unfortunately, today is definitely one of those days.  It all started out this morning when I went to go get coffee.  The very second that my foot left my door, I was suddenly feeling everything from everybody that I encountered.  I felt it as if it was my own emotional struggles and turmoil, and honestly I don’t think that any of it was mine.  I ran into an old friend who needed to come talk to me.  I continued to the store, which is literally three buildings down from my apartments.  By the time I got to the store I was already so drained I could barely walk.  I was unable to get my coffee due to technology difficulties.

11752170_861823723853989_5128456757206481500_nBy the time I got back to my house, I was having an empath breakdown.  I was feeling so much and getting so angry (partly from other people’s energy, and partly from my inability to control it).  I felt like I was never going to get my mind and my heart together.  Sadly, this was not the worst part of my day.  By the time my friend came over, I was a total wreck.  I seemed to be in control, at least to the untrained eye.  Then, all of a sudden, my dear friend threw me through a loop that I never saw coming, and I knew that it was time to prepare for battle.

11707596_854714281231600_4511390032846344987_nNormally when I have these kind of empath struggles, I find myself unable to walk away.  I sometimes convince myself that it is my responsibility to help and heal everybody that I encounter.  This is the first thing that needs to change in my world.  So, in an effort to save myself, I ran away from home.  I didn’t go far, just to my friend downstairs.  After a spent a little while there, I was able to regain my wits and figure out how I was going to fix this problem.  Running away is rarely the right option, but sometimes you need to gather yourself together to be able to know what you need to do, and that is exactly what I was able to do.

For the first time ever, I found that I was able to return to the situation and have a bit of control over it.  After some healthy communication with my dear friend (and by the way, he knows that I am an empath), I was able to endure the situation without further pain.  Of course, the fact that everything had gone the way it did this morning, left me feeling like being an empath is a curse today.

10544782_339101042912195_3813323498823931893_nThere are days that I just want to run away to a cave in the middle of nowhere.  Then there are other days where I won’t get out of bed.  Oftentimes I find myself unable to leave the house or entertain company.  I know that this is not necessarily a good thing, but sometimes I need to protect myself from the pain of other people.

As the day passed, I found myself too sensitive to everything going on around me.  I have a sneaking suspicion that at least a few of my readers might be going through a similar situation.  I have one piece of advice for those individuals:  Do not be afraid to walk away from a situation that is too much to handle.  As empaths, we are NOT required to help and heal the world.  We have been given a gift to use to our advantage, but we need to clearly draw the line to protect ourselves.  We must stand up for ourselves.

Until next time, remember that you are a strong, beautiful person, and we can make it through this together.  Stay blessed!


One thought on “Emotional Overload

Leave a comment